Research into historic records shows that The Fairbanks Inn was built between 1775 and 1776 by Eben Snow, a highly successful sea captain. The two-story main building is only one of three brick buildings in town still standing and in use from the colonial era. The walls of the house are made of Dutch bricks, which were brought back as ballast by Captain Snow himself. Perhaps the most delightful and revered feature of the main house are the wide-pine plank floors from Captain Snow’s ship.
In 1826, Captain Snow sold the house to David Fairbanks, an influential and important figure in Provincetown’s history during the mid 1800′s. Fairbanks, a partner in the Union Wharf Companyand an agent of the Freeman’s Bank of Boston, began the first banking business in Provincetown in the front parlors of this house. (We’re convinced that we will someday find gold buried in the walls.) In 1846, he moved the Freeman’s branch to Union Wharf. Five years later, with other businessmen, Fairbanks founded the Seamen’s Saving Bank and became Provincetown’s wealthiest resident.
The house is credited with having the first indoor bathroom in Provincetown, containing a tin-lined square tub and a marble wash basin — since updated!
In 1975, Captain Snow’s home returned to prominence. Completely restored for the nation’s Bicentennial, the house became a museum and welcomed visitors from around the world. It boasted an exhibit of one of the finest collections of colonial and 18th century folk art and furniture.
Respecting the history and spirit of Captain Eben Snow and David Fairbanks’ home, The Fairbanks Inn began welcoming travelers in 1985. Since then, The Fairbanks Inn has been renowned by guests and travel writers alike for its unique blend of historic charm and guest amenities.